Need Help with Pattern Instructions

Hello! I have a pattern that I am trying to decode!
Here it is…Is there someone out there willing to break this down for me? I’m a bit of a novice.

Cast on 100 stitches on circular needle size 3 mm / US 2.5 with Merino Extra Fine or Karisma. Work in GARTER STITCH - read explanation above, back and forth. REMEMBER THE GAUGE! When piece measures 24 cm, cast on stitches at the end of every row in each side as follows: Cast on 1 stitch 2 times and 2 stitches 5 times (= 12 stitches increased in each side) = 124 stitches. At the end of next row cast on 28 stitches at the end of row = 152 stitches. Knit until mid back on helmet hat by knitting 62 stitches from after the 28 stitches cast on mid front. Now divide the piece mid back to work back and forth from mid back (this is done so that the seam is mid back). Work in garter stitch back and forth until piece measures 10 cm / 4’’ from the 28 stitches cast on mid front. Now insert 8 marker threads in the piece as follows: Begin mid back and insert first marker thread after 10 stitches, then insert the next 7 marker threads after 19 stitches, there are now 9 stitches on needle after last marker thread. Continue in garter stitch.

Maybe this pattern?

Work the 100 sts back and forth in garter stitch until 24cm. Cast on 1stitch at the each end of the next row (call it row 1) and at each end of row 2. Then cast on 2sts at each end of rows 3,4,5,6 and 7. That’ll be 12sts cast on on each side.

Since you can’t cast on at the end of a row, cast on at the beginning of the next row. For example on row 1 cast on one stitch at the beginning of the row, work to the end, turn and cast on 2sts. That’s the one stitch for the end of row 1 and the one stitch at the beginning of row 2.

That will at least get you started or had you gotten this far? Let us know just where the question is. If you need help as the pattern proceeds, let us know.

2 Likes