Knitting... machine?

So it has happened. My sister now wants a knitting machine.
Actually I’ve always thought that’s some kind of cheating and I’ve never tried anything like these before. I’ve been wandering, any machine knitters here? Maybe that’s a strange thing to ask, but I’d really appreciate a piece of advice. What brand would you recommend? Any specs we should consider?

Thanks in advance.

There are a few machine knitters. Maybe @Beth_Leatherman or @MK_er can offer some advice.

I’ve never been tempted to machine knit. For me the pleasure is in working with the needles and forming sts.

1 Like

I haven’t used my machines in a long time. I’ve only made blankets with them. There’s a wide variety of features. Mine are not electric, not computerized. I’d suggest watching YouTube videos to see what they can do. There are Facebook groups that could help too.

2 Likes

P.S. Do you consider using a sewing machine cheating? How about cutting down a tree with a hand saw vs. a motorized saw? Not meant to be mean—just some perspective. My knit club makes beautiful things by machine. I just prefer hand knitting.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply, Beth. Can you tell which brand they are?

As for cheating. Mentioning this fact was more like a “I was wrong before” confession - well, I’ve never seen them before “in live”. I understand how do they work now. And I believe that one can make beautiful crafts with it.
That’s why I’m asking for recommendations - since I support my sister’s decision fully.
No offense taken :dove:

2 Likes