If you could buy any, which needles would you buy?

Hi all,

As a beginner I am wondering what kind of needles I should buy. I am into quality over quantity and anything that would make knitting go smoother would be great. The first needles I bought were bamboo and they were ok, but I think maybe they are better suited to a different yarn. I also have plastic circular that I am using as regular needles (no join)…I read that as a tip somewhere, but I am not sure I agree. It seems a little cumbersome and also the transition from the join part to the needle catches. Any opinion on that?

So much of it is just personal preference. I have so many different kinds of needles. My all-around most used and loved are my Denise Interchangeable needles. I have some Addy Turbo Circulars in the sizes smaller than my Denise set has & I love those too. I am a big fan of Clover bamboo double points for projects that call for those. I own a set of the Boye interchangeable needles now, due to a 50% off coupon at Michaels, but I’ve never even opened the package.
kimmie

Seems like the interchangeable needles are a pretty good idea…initally expensive but then you are set! Do yours seem to catch where the needle and cord join?

I love my denise’s, and they dont catch.

If money weren’t an issue, I would every size and length in circular Addi’s. I’ve only worked with dpn once and I used Susan Bates; I have no complaints about them. But I haven’t tried any other brand dpn, so I can’t really say for sure. One thing I do know is that I would definately avoid wood. :wink:

thanks…are curcular addi’s that much better than denise interchangable?

I’ve not used Denise interchangables yet, but I have zero gripes about addis (except the price tag :wink: but this a hypo situation, right? :D) Anyhoo … I’m growing less fond of ordering things online and I haven’t found Denise Interchange retail near me; so until I do, I highly doubt that I’ll be trying them.