Fibre Arts and Stars etc...

There is a new yarn store in my town. The yarns are beautiful. However, I feel intimidated. I have always bought yarn at Michael’s or Walmart because that is what has been available to me. I buy yarns that are pretty and I do not much care about fibre content. I have also joined a knitting group on facebook called Knit Stars and it seems that everyone is all about fibres and dying and alpaca or silk yarn. I want to hang out with these people, but frankly, I am just feeling cheap and like I don’t belong because I can’t afford to pay $35 for one skein of yarn… I like Bernat and Patons and Loops and Threads… I just feel like (less?) because I can’t afford to knit with the expensive stuff, and I feel like I am being shamed for it (even though that is probably more imagined perception than real)

I’ve been knitting for a few years now and I’ve never, ever paid $35 for a single ball or skein of yarn. My view is that those who can and want to spend that much are welcome to do so but I don’t need to. I do enjoy using natural fiber yarns but I find them online for much less. One of my favorite sites that I can’t visit because I will buy more yarn I don’t need is Little Knits. I’m not suggesting you go spend money there but thought they’re worth a mention. Knit what you want with the yarn you use and don’t let anyone mess with your enjoyment of knitting. When you can venture into trying other yarns and you want to then is the time to consider your options.

I stumbled across this site about eleven years ago. My grandson had chosen some Super Saver yarn at Walmart for a sweater. I was a crocheter but had learned how to knit and purl. The yarn wasn’t crocheting so the multi-colors looked good and I had to try knitting. By the time I’d finished the sweater, with a heck of a lot of help and encouragement here, I was beginning to consider myself a knitter. Had I said, that yarn’s not good enough, I wouldn’t be knitting today.