Whats gauge?

Hi, I am new to knitting but love it! I am planning to work on a clutch purse with a button hole etc, and at the start of the pattern it says the following below:

GAUGE:

12 sts = 4 in. [10 cm] in St st (k on RS, p on WS), before felting. BE SURE TO CHECK YOUR GAUGE.

I am not sure what it means? As after that, it says:
CLUTCH
Cast on 28 sts.
Work in St st until piece measures 18 in. [46 cm] from beginning, end with a WS row. Bind off.

and the rest of the pattern says:
FINISHING
Fold Clutch into thirds, sew side seams. Weave in ends.

Flower
Cast on 23 sts. Work in St st until piece measures 1 in. [2.5 cm] from beginning. Bind off. Weave in ends. Coil Flower into a rose shape. With sewing needle and thread, sew across base of Flower to secure shape. Sew Flower to Clutch.

FELTING
Wash by machine on a hot wash/cold rinse cycle with detergent and several pieces of clothing to agitate. To felt additionally, dry by machine on a regular setting until almost dry. Remove from dryer and pull into shape.

I hope someone can help me with the first part of the pattern as it confuses me.
Many thanks for ur help. I like this site by the way, its the best one!! Have bookmarked it and joined it. Knitting is a great way for me to unwind I find, and of course to meet new ppl thru!! :slight_smile:
Cheers,
gypsysnail (or snail)

I’m a fairly new knitter but I’ll try to explain. Ingrid can pipe in anytime with further explanation. :slight_smile:

Gauge is (I don’t know the proper definitio but) what makes a garmet/item the size that it is. Like if you use the size needles and the yarn called for in the pattern (or equivalent), AND you knit JUST like the person did to get GAUGE, then yours will match theirs.

With a gauge of 12 sts = 4 in. [10 cm] in St st (k on RS, p on WS), what you will do is this…