What it Means to K3, P1 rib for 6 Rows, and More

I’m extremely new to knitting- I just started learning a few nights ago. I decided for my first project to be this hat: http://www.knittingninja.com/?page_id=138 . I have all the supplies I need, just not the experience or know-how.

My first question is regarding “K3, P1 rib for 6 Rows”. Does this mean for each line of stitches I work on the needle, I knit 3 stitches, then purl 1 stitch, and repeat till the end of the row? And, what exactly [I]is[/I] a row? Are my ribs made simply by the k3 p1?

Yes you will k3 p1 to the end of row, then you will turn your needles and do next row…which will be row 2, then again for 4 more rows…hope this helps…

It certainly does. Thanks!

You are knitting in the round. When you join your stitches after casting on-that point will be the end of your first round, you will k3,p1 around to that point for 6 rounds then you begin knitting every stitch until the pattern says otherwise.

The next part of the patten states: "Row 1: k(6), k2tog around.

Row 2: K across.

Repeat last two rows, subtracting the number in brackets by 1 each time. K5, k4, and so on, until you have 16 sts remaining."

Does that mean that I knit 6, then k2tog for a row, then knit a whole row, then knit 5 and k2tog for the rest of the row, and so on? Thanks in advance!

That’s right.

Okay, last questions about this, I promise!
For the pointy teeth part, it says

Sl 1 wyif, k1, sl 1 wyif, p1, sl 1 wyif, k1, sl1 wyif.

When I “Sl1 wyif”, am I transferring the loop to the other needle with my working yarn facing me, or am I letting the stitch slide off the needle?

For the next row, it says

K1, sl 1 wyif, sl 1, k2tog, psso, sl 1 wyif, k1.

After I slip 1 (what exactly does that mean?) and then k2tog, do I bring it over the knit like in a CO?

And finally, for the next row it says

P2tog, p1, ssp

I think I mainly need to know what exactly I’m doing when I slip. Thanks so much in advance!