What do you mean "patt 7 sts"?

The pattern says ;

Row1 k2,p1, k38, p1,k3,p1,k to last 3 sts,p1,k2.
Row2 purl.

These 2 rows form main patt.

Place a marker at each side of center 13 sts.

Next row: Patt 7 sts, skp, k to wihin 2 sts of marker , k2 tog, slip marker onto right needle, patt 13 sts, Slip marker onto right needle, skp, k to last 9 sts, k 2 tog, patt to end.

What do you mean “patt” in this case. I have no idea. And one more thing, ddoes this pattern mean you just slip the marked st?

Patt means “knit the [U]patt[/U]ern as established” .
In this case, the pattern is established in Rows 1 & 2.

Thank you for the reply but I am new to knitting so I still don’t get how I can do 2 rows in 7 sts.
Does that mean first 7 sts? Like k1, p2,k5?

Your directions are all in[COLOR=Red] [B]bold[/B] [/COLOR]above. Don’t forget the skp’s either. You are not just working (or patterning 7). You are moving on down the row.

Pattern writers are lazy…look at it that way. Instead of spelling out what the 7 actually are for [B]Patt 7…[/B]

Reading and deciphering patterns is not easy! Very confusing at times! And it doesn’t get any better. Some patterns are even worse…even for old timers like me.

Patt 7 means to work 7 sts in the pattern. So work the first 7sts in the pattern, dec, knit across to 2 sts before the marker, dec again do another 13 sts in pattern, dec, knit to 9 sts before the marker, dec and do the rest of the sts in the pattern.

The reason they say to ‘patt x’ sts is not necessarily laziness, but depending on the size you’re making and what decs have gone before, it may be difficult type out detailed instructions.

Oh, I feel so stupid to ask the same question over and over.
I asked my husband if he understands what it says because I am not a native English speaker, and he said " no" :frowning:

so I am going to write down what I think it means and please correct me if it’s wrong.

These 2 rows form pattern[COLOR=“Blue”]