User guide for circular needle

Hello,

I’m a newbie to this knitting community. I would like to switch to circular needle.

If you have tips for me to help me starting.

Thank you

Welcome to KH! What do you mean you want to switch to circular needle? Are you in the middle of a project or do you just want to use them in place of straights?

Knitting with circulars is really just like knitting with straights. You just have a cable connecting the needles. You do have to take into consideration what you want to knit so you know what size cable to use and there are a few different methods to use with circulars.

1 Like

Thank you for your message.

I have always use straights needles and i’m a bit scared to start with the circular but sounds fun.

I will start with a hat.

Perfect!

Before you start you need to know this info- There are three ways to use circular needles for knitting in the round. I’ll add some links, too.

1. 16" circular needle - This works well up until you need to decrease for the crown. Then you need to use another method of circular knitting such as DPN, magic loop, or 2 circulars. Because of the length of the cable you can’t use this method for small diameter knitting which is why it doesn’t work at the top of a hat.

2. Two circular needles - You can start and finish a hat with this method. You need to circulars with the same size needles. The cable should be the same length, but it will work even if one cable is a little longer.

3. Magic Loop - You can start and finish a hat with this method. You need one long circular needle. The shortest length you can use comfortably is probably 32". I prefer 40" because there’s less pulling on the joins. I use this method almost exclusively now for in the round knitting of hats and socks.

There IS one more method for knitting in the round- DPN. I learned by doing the top of a hat, but now I only use them for very small diameter knitting like stuffed animal legs, etc.