Turning and Short Rows - HELP please!

I am a very new, self-taught knitter, and am in desparate need of help to work a pattern.

This pattern from Knitty.com, requires turning the piece and working in short rows as well as using stitch markers. Here is the pattern link: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter06/PATTcalorimetry.html

My challenge lies in working the first 2 rows from the pattern:

[i]Row 1: Work all sts in 2x2 Rib.

Row 2: Work in 2x2 Rib as set to last 2 sts, turn work.

Row 3: Sl 1, work 3 sts, place marker, work to last 2 sts, turn work.[/i]

I know how to work in 2x2 Rib, and have the basic stitches and some increase/decrease methods down. I don’t understand what the pattern means on Row 2 by “as set to last 2 sts, turn work”. What does this mean by “as set to”?

P.S.: Does this mean I work to the end of the row (no stitches left on the needle to work), and turn the piece around? Isn’t that what I would be doing anyway?

I have tried like crazy to find a tutorial, picture, or video that can easily explain what “turning the piece” looks like and how to stitch it properly in this pattern.

Please please, pretty please … if anyone can help me out, I would be beyond appreciative. I don’t have anyone I can learn from in person, which is always the best method.

I feel hopelessly lost …

THANKS!

“As set to” just means to continue the ribbing as it’s been established. So you’ll work to the last 2 stitches and then turn the work as if you finished the row, even though there are stitches left on the needle.

Errr …

I’m still quite stuck.

Any suggestions from the rest of the talented peanut gallery?

:slight_smile:

Ingrid summed it up really, don’t know how much more i (anyone) can help…