Straight needle sock help...

I’m a veteran knitter and have never had any issues, but I always wanted to make socks. I’m much too lazy for real DPN or magic ring socks, so I finally found an alternative for straight needles. I’m absolutely head over heels for this pattern, but there is one drawback: in making the heel and toe, the pattern includes a gappy, holey space where stitches were left unworked. How can I remedy this, opposed to just running yarn back through the spots?

What pattern are you following?

1 Like

Ooh yes Mrs main, I’d love to see your pattern!

1 Like

It was originally from a YouTube video, but I tweaked it over and over until it worked best for me. Here is the video:

For the changes, I use size 7 needles instead of 8, and I cast on 28 or 32 stitches instead of 36. Also, for the ankle part of the sock, it calls for 8 rows of stockinette, but I always do 10-12. My only complaints about this pattern are (like originally stated) the gaps left in the heel and toe, but also that my cuffs in K2, P2 are always too loose.

1 Like

This is my go to pattern. But I do the heels differently because of the holes.
Work in half the stitches. Place marker on center. Work on left or right side depending if it’s for the right or left foot.
*knit to last 6 stitches. Turn. Slip first stitch purlwise. Purl to 6 sts before the end of the row. Turn. Slip st purlwise. Knit to last 5 stitches. Turn. Slip first st purlwise, purl to last 5 sts. Turn. Slip st, knit to 4 stitches etc until all the sts are used up. You will have a gap at the ends. Knit or purl the last stitches of each row before and after the gap. No counting. I’m actually working on that same pair as yours with that pattern for my granddaughter. Here’s what my alternative heel will look like.