Somoene help me finish my first project!

Hi everyone. My name’s Minerva. I’m from Mexico, as you know my native language is spanish so my english is not very good. But I’ll try to explain why I am here.

I’m new to being a member in a forum and to knitting either. My grandma introduced me to this fascinating activity about 3 weeks ago. I began knitting and purling and everything. My first exercise was an all knitted square. And I chose for my first project a bowtie scarf. Grandma said it was a difficult project for a beginner like me but i wasn’t disappointed with those spectations, by the other way I was encouraged on doing it. I like challenges.

Everything started right. It didn’t seem to be difficult to follow the pattern of the bowtie. But I reached the tricky part of the project, just after knitting the body of the scarf. When it says:

"Divide stitches onto 2 needles (one straight, one double point needle):

• knit 1 (straight needle), knit one (slip to double point needle afterwards, keep dpn
    at back of work)* repeat to end of row – there will be 12 sts on the straight needle
    and 12 (every other stitch) on the double point needle.
    Work with the 12 sts on the straight needle first – work 2,5 inches in single rib.
    Break yarn.Work with the 12 sts on the double point needle next – work 2,5 inches single rib."

I simply got stuck here and don’t know what to do next. I got a few questions and i’m begging for help. Hope someone can help me.

-What’s the point on using dpn? Can I got the same result using a straight needle? I do not know how to use the dpn as marked on these project. :pout: