Softyak DK alternatives

Hi all. I’ve just spotted the Rowan Allie vest pattern (by Martin Storey) and would love to put it on my projects list, but would be keen to know what people would recommend as an alternative to the Softyak DK that the pattern recommends, as it’s just a bit too pricey for my budget?! :grimacing:

I’m not super confident to just go ahead and pick another yarn as I’m still learning about weights, blends etc, so any thoughts or tips on alternates would be very welcome :pray:

Thanks in advance.

Emily

There’s a very helpful site called Yarnsub.com that matches yarns as closely as possible. Give them a try and see if any of their suggestions will work.

3 Likes

Hello
I almost never use the yarn given in a pattern.
Yarn sub is great if you want to try to get as close as possible to the type of yarn you are substituting. You can change it up on there too though, say if the yarn is acrylic but you want natural fibres or if the yarn is wool but you prefer man-made options, there is an amount of flexibility to how you search - including budget.

I don’t like fluffy yarn with a haze it tickles my nose and makes my face itchy but if I liked a pattern I’d make it in a non fluffy yarn instead. This is when yarn subnis not quite so useful to me as it will try to match the fluff and haze of the original yarn when I want something quite different. Hope that makes sense.

I have used yarn sub but I’ve also just chosen my own yarn for a pattern. Obviously you need to accept the garment won’t be exactly as the pattern if you change the yarn.

Usually I find a yarn I want to use (my own decisions have been based on fibre, recycled yarns, cost, colour, ease of washing, for instance) and put it with a pattern with the same weight. Mostly DK yarn and a DK pattern. Then I swatch to make sure I like the fabric and see how the gauge compares to the pattern.
Usually my gauge comes up as given in the pattern with the needle size in the pattern and I go ahead.