Socks Hard?

Hi.I was wondering if you guys think that socks are hard because a friend of
mine that is a knitter says that they are very hard and that the heel is to but i don’t think so because i did a heel on a sock before and it was easy. But how about the rest of the parts a sock has.I would like to prove my friend wrong.

If you can do the heel you can do the whole sock. The heel is the hardest part. Go for it! :wink:

OMG knitting socks are sooooo fun!!! I say go for it!!! I’m so glad that I learned how to do socks while I was a beginner knitter. I know a knitter that has been knitting longer than me, and she’s afraid to do socks because she thinks they’re hard.

Do it socks are so fun and knit up really fast!!! :cheering:

I think that if you already know how to knit in the round, socks are EASY. If you are just learning to knit in the round and are using dpns, it can be challenging at first. That said, there are lots of basic sock patterns that are quick knits and once you get the hang of it, it is fun and gets easier and easier as you learn the basic construction of a sock. There are also lots of difficult, challenging sock patterns for once you’re bored of the basics!

Socks…hard?! Nonsense :shock:

As a total sock newbie (I’m kitchenering my first toe tonight in a class I’m taking), I can say they’re much easier than I expected them to be! Really once you break it down into parts none of them are that hard. It’s only when you think of the whole heel flap-turn-gusset as one big step that it gets intimidating. But it’s not like you’re doing all of them at once. Everyone should knit socks! :smiley:

If you can cast on, knit, and purl, you can knit socks…Sock Class :smiley:

Says our resident Sock Queen! :angelgrin:

Socks look much MUCH harder than they actually are. Use Silver’s tutorial. And if you’ve already done a heel, then you’ve done the hardest part! (And what I think is the most fun part–suddenly that tube has sockness!!)