Should I trust the pattern? Sleeve length.

Hi all! I’m new to the forum and this is my first post. I’ve been knitting for 16 years (off an on).
I’m knitting a 1960s (circa) cardigan for my man for Christmas (pattern link: https://rb.gy/6hh7ff). The first knitted I’ve made for him. Tension is correct horizontally but 4 sts vertically (pattern guage is 4 1/2 sts), which I figured I could work with. I’ve completed the back, fronts, and one sleeve. My question is, I’m nervous the sleeve is going to be too short, even though it’s the same length the pattern specifies (22"). It includes a 4" ribbed cuffed which gets turned back in half, knocking two inches off the sleeve length. Though it looks like the sleeves are full length in the photo, don’t the sleeves look rather short compared to the body on my version? Do you think I should trust the pattern and roll with it? Thanks so much for your input and time!
Cheers !

Screen Shot 2023-11-28 at 8.45.18 PM
Screen Shot 2023-11-28 at 8.43.49 PM

Welcome to KH. That’s a nice looking sweater. Could you lay out a garment with sleeves of the correct length then lay your knitted pieces on top of it to compare? I think the sleeve looks short too.

2 Likes

I agree the sleeves appear a little short.
A “regular” size from my experience of looking at patterns (no expert though) is a full length sleeve is the same as the width of the sweater ie a 44" chest is 22" across front and would have 22" sleeve.
Your pattern sleeve length does not appear to allow for the fold back of the cuff, I would imagine a 24" sleeve would be more suitable if you want the 2" fold back, just as you have said.
I have looked at a modern modified drop sleeve sweater to check and this was the case.

Measuring a sweater which you know to be the correct size or laying your knitting on top is also a good way to check as GG said.

If it was me I’d undo the cast on and add another 2" straight without shaping.