Sewing sleeves together

I am a newbie working on a sweater pattern that has separate sleeves, fronts and back. The pattern says to bind off 4 stitches before placing the remaining stitches on a holder. Then join all the pieces and continue knitting the yoke.
When I went back to join the sleeves and sides together where I had bound off the stitches became a “bump” out . Looked wrong to me so I just seamed it straight up and ended up with a bulky piece under the arm.
Hard to describe…
Any suggestions on how I should have joined the sleeves to avoid this problem
thanks

There should have been bound off sts on both the body and sleeves which would be seamed together as well.

Usually there are bound off sts on both sides of the sleeve and corresponding sts bound off on the fronts and back. You can match up the bound off sts and seam them. Alternatively, if you don’t bind them off but put them on st holders or spare yarn, you can graft them together or use 3 needle bind off to join them. Seaming, grafting or 3 needle bind-off are non-bulky joins.

Aloha, thank you for the replies. I did not explain very clearly. Actually there were bound off sts on both sleeves and body but I am not getting how to make the transition (?) from sleeve to body. What I have is both sleeve and body projecting out then sort of scooping in along the bound off sts to where the yoke takes over. Can you suggest a place that shows a picture or video of how to handle this?
I have a feeling once I “get it” I will be saying"oh, of course!"