"Self taught Knitter"

Greetings to everyone!!!

My question is more along the lines of curiosity!! I’m wondering what “self taught knitter” means. I will occasionally see people on here say they are “self taught” and I wonder:

1. What does that mean
  2. What other kinds of knitters are there
  3. What difference does it make (if any) in how instructions or patterns are worked
  4. If my questions are being too rude don’t be afraid to tell me!!!

Thanks
Knitcindy

By self taught, I personally mean I’ve looked for the information I’ve needed as and when, although I was taught the basics by my mum. We don’t knit the same kind of things, so I’ve had to research and build my own skill set, so to speak!
Some knitters might follow all patterns to the letter, others improvise a lot (I suspect most fall in between and do both, however).
Written patterns can make sense to the person writing it, but other knitters may need to reinterpret it so they understand it better. Some directions are going to be awkward to word no matter what! I don’t know if being self taught, as opposed to being experienced makes a difference here.

Hi, I take it to mean I taught myself- which I did with some help from my mom. But that’s a good question. Don’t we all pretty much teach ourselves by following patterns. One thing I do wrong but doesn’t affect my pattern is how I do my knit stitch. I go behind the needle to pick it up. I told myself when I finish this sweater, I’m going to try and do it the correct way! Lol

I’m like you. My mum taught me the basics when I was about 8 but she’s still very old school, knitting in pieces on straight needles and seaming together whereas I love knitting with circular needles cause I hate having to sew it all together. And I suppose in that respect (and all the other techniques over the years - I’m now 55) I guess you could call me self experienced not necessarily self taught.