Self taught beginner needing help

I used YouTube videos to teach myself how to knit I decided to try and knit my daughter a blanket. Way too big of a project to start on as a beginner. When I got done it does not look like a blanket. I showed some friends and family and my aunt in law very ridley said well if you would have counted your stitches you wouldn’t have ruined it. Lesson learned as none of the videos I watched mentioned counting stitches. Is there any way I can fix her blanket to look decent it looks like a cape :frowning: kinda hard to tell in the pic. It doesn’t need to be perfect but I’d like to try and get it more symmetrical 16747014334862126851005903392817|1200x900

1 Like

It looks like your cast on was very tight. Your aunt was a bit rude. You are just learning. Making mistakes is a part of that.

Having a simple pattern, just knits and purls might be easier to start with. It’s difficult to lose count then.

When I was a relatively new knitter my daughter asked me for a blanket I made her this https://www.ravelry.com/projects/SheenaStoneKnits/blanket. She has it on her bed all year round and loves it.

The best thing to do is use stitch markers. I’ve found ‘O’ rings the best kind. You can get them cheaply from any hardware store. They just need to have the internal diameter of 0.5 up from whatever size needle you’re using.

3 Likes

Welcome to KH. I took the liberty of posting your photo here because it will be easier for others than opening a linked file. I hope you don’t mind but if you do please let me know and I’ll edit my post to remove it.