Rodarte style punk tights..total newb needs help

Hi,

So I am dying to figure out how to tackle making a pair of these yarn tights that just graced the catwalk at a $850.00+ price tag ouch. They have a similar look to fishnets, but of course more inconsistent and chaotic looking.
So I am completely new to knitting :oops: Not for sure if this is the best project to start for a complete newb, but I would like to try to tackle it.
So is this comprised of a stockinette stitch with lots of controlled drop stitches and buttonholes…?
I made a guage swatch with sz17 needles and a fingering mohair yarn. The stitch pattern and holeyness looks about right :lol:

If anyone could give me some advice on how to tackle something like this.
Here’s a pattern, but I am not for sure if it would be appropriate for this project?
http://www.vam.ac.uk/images/image/13087-popup.html

Any help would be greatly appreciated

http://bp1.blogger.com/_HVegJ6kms6A/R94yqu4jSvI/AAAAAAAAA0g/DpqWowNYR0E/s1600-h/rodarte3.jpg

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z301/theclotheshorse/theclotheshorse2/rodarte5.jpg&imgrefurl=http://theclothes.blogspot.com/2008/02/i-looked-and-i-found.html&h=480&w=320&sz=35&hl=en&start=5&um=1&tbnid=pEVwh0GICQadTM:&tbnh=129&tbnw=86&prev=/images%3Fq%3Drodarte%2Btights%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26hs%3DNvl%26sa%3DN

http://bp1.blogger.com/_HVegJ6kms6A/R94yqu4jSuI/AAAAAAAAA0Y/ovPX6ekySBQ/s1600-h/rodarte1.jpg

http://bp2.blogger.com/_HVegJ6kms6A/R94yq-4jSwI/AAAAAAAAA0o/6lySBzlDcyY/s1600-h/rodarte4.jpg

oo thats a toughy if you havnt made socks before!

i think i would probably make them as toe up over-knee-socks or stockings.