Pocket Linings

This is my first attempt.

I slipped the required stitches on to a stitch holder and continued knitting. On the next row, I have picked up the stitches that were slipped off. Now there is a string left within the pattern which I assume is where I will attach the pocket to later on. Should this string be on the right (outer) or wrong side (inner)) side of the pattern? Mine has ended up on the inner. I think this is wrong.

Please advise. Sorry for the long post

On the next row, I have picked up the stitches that were slipped off.

‘Picked up sts that were slipped off’? Do you mean you CO to replace the sts that are on the holder? Are you making the pocket lining in place or separate (when you say ‘attach the pocket later’)?

What is the pattern…can you provide a link or the pocket instructions? (Not all linings are worked the same.)

Now there is a string left within the pattern which I assume is where I will attach the pocket to later on. Should this string be on the right (outer) or wrong side (inner)) side of the pattern? Mine has ended up on the inner. I think this is wrong.

Is the tail the result of rejoining your yarn? Doesn’t matter if on the RS or WS as it can be moved, woven, etc.

Some more specific details would be helpful.

Thank you for your response. I thought I posted a reply but it is not showing so here it is again.

The pattern is as follows:

Place Pocket Lining

Next Row: (K1, P1) 8 times, slip 33 sts onto a stitch holder, (P1, K1) 5 times.

Next Row: (P1, K1B) 5 times, work across 33 sts left on a stitch holder for one pocket lining as follows:-

P1, (K1B, P1) 16 times, (K1B, P1) 8 times.

Questions:

1. When knitting the first row, (which is the ws) after slipping off the 33 sts, do I continue knitting the remainder stitches as this will leave a string where the gap is (i.e. where the sts were slipped off)?

2. If so, what happens on the second row, i.e. the rs?