Please Help! I think I misread the pattern

Hello everyone!
My name is liz, and I am new to knitting…
My ‘learn to knit’ class is doing a baby sweater for our first project ( I know… you would think we would do a scarf or something!)
Anyway, I was sick this week so I finished our homeowork and started working on the sleeves.
Could someone please tell me what they think the following instructions mean???
[I]…proceed to stocking st inc 1 st eac end of needle on 3rd and every foloowing 2nd row (until you reach 62)[/I]

Then… for sizes 12mo (which I am doing) it says the following in a sperate paragraph…

[I]Inc 1 st at each of every following 4th row until there are 72 sts.[/I]

I truly appreciate your help…
What I did…
I thought it was 4 rows borken down
1st round
1st row-knit
2nd row-purls
3rd row-knit and increase
4th row-purl
2nd round and subsequent
1-knit
2-purl increase 1
3- knit increase
4- knit

Problem is that I just finished a sequence of forth row and have an odd number… (considering first round that makes sense) but it doesn’t feel right…

Sorry for being so detailed, but I have but a lot of extra work in already and want to be sure I am not mistaken before continuing…

THANKS sooooo very very much!

You shouldn’t ever have an odd number of stitches – each time you increase, you need to increase at both ends (that is, increase at the beginning of that row and also at the end of the row.)

The first section has you doing a two-stitch increase every other row – so row 1 would be knit, row 2 purl, row 3 knit with increases, row 4 purl, row 5 knit with increases, row 6 purl, etc. How many you do depends on how many stitches you started with, but for example if you start with 50 stitches, you’re going to need to have 6 increase rows (2 stitches each row) to get to 62, so you’d be increasing on rows 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13.