Opinions? DPNS or Magic Loop Method for socks?

Hi there! I guess im a beginner knitter, although I’ve known how for a few years I only finished my first project some time around october last year. Since then i fell in love with knitting and I knit a few scarves, a nice couch throw. I strated looking for some straight needle patterns for other witer accessories, as I’m a tad afriad of in the round. Then I found a great hat pattern for straight needles and since I’ve knit a few hats. And then my boyfriend wanted socks! So I searched the internet for straight nedle sock patterns. I found a few , one simple enough for my first try and i’ve finished his first sock and im almost done his second. While he likes them, I’m not totally satisfied with the seam along the back, which is a tad harder to sew up then the hats.
So essentially, I would like some opinions on the alternate method the internet has so graciuosly shown me, the Magic Loop method, and wether or not it would be simpler to follow for a beginner than double points.
Thanks, Kelsey :smile:

1 Like

I’ve been looking for black knit sock patterns like you were found one pair that use two colors and they seam together wrapping around rather than straight up. But I also am considering trying either circular or double pointed needles. I love the easiest possible round knit sock pattern. Thanks :slight_smile: P.S can you write the name of the couple of flat knit sock patterns you found? Thanks

the one i found that i like the best is http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mens-basic-2-needle-sock-pattern, included in the free download the author also gives notes on how to make calculate for the perfect heel and toe increases and deacreases if your changing the sizing.

This is the only one i liked while reading it enough to actually try it, for a mens foot. However, I found a few for womens feet that I may try, unless i make a decision to move towards double points or magic loop. Here are those ones