New to knitting

I’m new to knitting and am watching the videos but some things aren’t clear. How many times do you need to cast on before you start knitting? Does it depend on the width of whatever you’re making? I want to do a scarf- and after I cast on, how do I switch from a cast on to actually knitting??? It’s very confusing! Also- which is easiest to learn with- the English or Continental video? Thanks for any help!

You need to cast on as many stitches one after the other as you need to make the width of the item you are making. All the stitches will be on the same needle. After you have as many stitches as you want you will hold the needle with the stitches on it in your left hand and the empty needle in your right hand. The yarn going to the skein will end up attached to the first stitch at the pointed end of the left hand needle after you cast on.

Once you have the stitches cast on and the needles as I said you are ready to start knitting the first stitch at the end of the left hand needle. Then when you have knit each stitch in the row, exchange the needles from one hand to the other so that the full needle is again in your left hand and the empty needle in your right hand. I think of the piece of knitting that you have completed as coming out toward you from the left hand needle and lying between the two needles. It will, of course not amount to much at first, but that is where the knitting will grow.