Knitting socks

Does anyone know where I can go to watch a video or a link to show me how to knit socks I have a couple of patterns but I’ve never tried to knit socks before.
Thanks

Hi nannieree
I was checking my email yesterday and something came in from Knitting Daily. When I opened it up Susan B. Anderson had her sock pattern. It seems as though she has alot of tutorials with it also. Perhaps you could google her to find her site and see what she has to offer! Hope that helped! bonbon

Are your patterns for cuff-down or toe-up? On YouTube I found knit picks has a really good tutorial for cuff-down socks and very pink knits has several tutorials for toe-up socks. I like them all. You can probably find one that best matches your pattern.

1 Like

Thank you very much. Ill check them out.

Thanks a lot.

In addition to the good recommendations above, Silver’s sock class is a good basic sock tutorial
http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/
I also like Liat Gat’s videos for toe up socks:

1 Like

Stacy @ very pink knits is Excellant.

2 Likes

I, too, would like to knit socks someday. But I will need the easiest sock pattern and video there is out there! I can’t imagine doing the heels! If anybody runs into a really easy peasy pattern/video,please let me know. I have lots of sock yarn. If socks have to be done with DPN’s, I probably never will. I hate using DPN’s.

You’ll do it, Pauline. The Liat Gat video I linked to is a nice one. She takes it step by step in a series of videos and makes the socks with magic loop.

1 Like

Well, that’s encouraging since I just learned the magic loop and I’m on my second project, using it. I finally got a system going where I put a marker on each loop because my loop kept disappearing!
Thanks!

In that video, is that CO method the only way for socks? Using 2 needles? That looks complicated.