Knitting purling confusion!

Hi all

I am a new member so I hope my question is not annoying.
I am a beginner and in the process of knitting my first scarf. At the moment I’m using the English method, but I am having difficulties getting my knitting and purling right when I’m knitting one row and purling one row. For example, I will knit one row, then purl the next, only to find out that I’ve knitted both (even though I’ve gone in with the needle from right to left and had the yarn towards myself when I was purling)

I can’t understand why this is and can’t figure out how to correct it!
Not sure if this makes sense?

I’ve looked online but I can’t seem to find anything about this problem?
Again forgive my naïveté, I started knitting only last week! :aww:

I’m not sure how you are “wrapping” the yarn. For me, the easiest way is to think that the knit stitch has the working yarn going “behind” the needle, and the purl stitch wraps it in “front”. I’m a very slow knitter, and have honestly never learned the trick of wrapping the working yarn around my fingers to help with tension, and also have the tendency to hold the needles very obviously different for the two stitches. I guess I’d describe them as the knit stitch having the two needles making an “x”, and the purl stitch looking more like a “t”. (I exaggerate the way I hold my needles to try and get my point across, lol!)

That’s the thing. I always make sure I have the yarn back when I knit and forward when I purl, but somehow sometimes after I’m done with the row, I look, and I’ve knit both rows rather than knit-purled them.

Am I not turning my project properly? What am I not doing? Gaah!

Welcome to KH!
We love questions so never think of yours as annoying.
I’d add to what miccisue has said by recommending the videos here on knitting and purling. They provide one way of doing the sts. Once you have the basics working you can try other methods to see which you prefer.