Knitting in the round

I’m new to knitting, and I’m thinking about making an afghan by knitting in the round. I’ve looked at the videos on how to do it, but I was wondering how you would know when you have finished the end of a row? The pattern I want to use has you repeating the same sequence all the way to the end of the needle until you get to the last 5 stitches, and then it has you do something else. Don’t the stitches just keep moving along the needles as you knit? They don’t come off the needles like they do when you are using straight needles; right?! :thinking:

You generally place a stitch marker between the first and last stitch BUT, I suspect that your pattern doesn’t actually require you to work in the round. I suspect it’s supposed to be knit back and forth on circular needles which allow for longer rows than straight needles do.

It is possible it’s a double thickness blanket which could be knit in the round, or it could be knit in the round then steeked, but you should confirm that first.

My pattern says for me to use 31" Circular knitting needle for this afghan. Isn’t knitting in the round the same as a circular knitting needle??? If not, what is it?

Not at all. A circular knitting needle is a tool not a technique. You can knit flat or in the round with circulars. In fact, I knit almost everything on circulars because I prefer the way the weight is distributed. I highly suspect that your afgan will be knit back and forth on the needles, not in the round.

All you do is knit to the end of the row, turn everything around and knit back, just like working on straights.

My afghan is working with a circular needle, but the pattern doesn’t say anything about turning it around when I get to the end of a row; this is what a couple of rows are like:

Rows 1 and 2: pURL ACROSS.

row 3: (Right side): P5,K1, YO, K1 P4,P2 tog. twice, P4, K1 *(YO, K1) twice, P4, P2tog. twice, P4, K1; repeat from * across to last 6 sts, YO, K1, P5.

ROW 4: Purl across.