I goofed! Ribbing/buttonhole

I just bound off the back of Enigmatic.

I started the fronts and had recorded how many rows of ribbing I did on the back so I could match it on fronts/sleeves. Well, I realized that I didn’t do the right number for some reason, pattern called for 1-1/4" and I did 1-1/2" (2 rows difference and I’m thinking I did it because it was really close between 1-1/4 and 1-1/2 and wanted to end on the proper side.)

I figured no big deal, I would just do 1-1/2" all around, but I have a problem now with how to do the buttonhole. I’ve never done a garment with a buttonhole before, so I have nothing to go on. The instructions say (after the intended 1-1/4" ribbing)

When piece measures 1-1/2" from cast-on edge (row 3 of cable pattern) work buttonhole as follows…

The problem here being that I’m starting row 1 of the cable pattern at 1-1/2", so already there. How do I fix this? Is it more important that I begin the buttonholes on row 3 of the cable pattern or more important that I do it as close to 1-1/2" as possible, meaning my first pattern row after the ribbing? I’m not ripping the entire back because of 2 extra ribbing rows, that’s just out of the question. :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks a bunch!

Do the buttonhole at 1 1/2" (which is where you are now, right?) and place the rest of the buttonholes according to the measurements in the following pattern instructions. The buttonholes don’t seem to be part of the cable column but look like they’re on a band running next to the cable so it should be ok.

I agree with salmonmac. Don’t even think of redoing the back. :lol: You’ll be fine.