How to wash knitted baby blanket?

Hello! Beginner knitter here. I just finished knitting a 18x28 baby blanket for my baby cousin that’ll be born sometime next month. I’m glad I finished the project, but I’m confused and terrified when it comes to washing the blanket. I don’t have a washing machine, so is it possible to handwash it? If so:

• What water temperature?

• Should I use softeners/detergents/other products?

• How do you dry it?

• Other tips on washing it, please :blush:

I’m scared the yarn would come undone or unravel, so I have been holding off washing it since I have no idea how. I’m a newbie, and this is only my second project, and I don’t want to mess it up just because I washed it wrong.

(Yarn is 60% cotton, 40% acrylic. Pattern is basic garter stitch).

1 Like

Welcome to KH!
The ballband or label on the yarn is a good indication of how to wash the knit item. Handwashing with a mild soap or a wash like Euclan or Soak works well (no Woolite). The label may say that items can be machine dried on low but laying flat to dry always works.

What yarn did you use?

I used a local brand yarn, made of 60% cotton and 40% acrylic. There’s not much that’s said on the label of the yarn, it just said to hand wash only, dry flat, and to not bleach. Pretty basic information!

My biggest question is whether to wash it with cold or warm water? Because I asked too on another site, and some people said to wash it with warm water. But then I asked some other people too and they said to wash it with cold water. I’m so confused hahah I don’t know which one’s better!

Does the water temperature make any difference at all? Does the temperature even matter?

Wash it in lukewarm water (medium-cool). You can even use a mild dishwashing liquid. Rinse it out well. You can then wrap it in a towel and gently squeeze out the excess water. Lay flat to dry.
You can wash in a sink since this blanket isn’t as large as the one described here.