How to hold needles so fingers are not sore

I’m new to knitting and I’m sure there must be a different or better way to hold the knitting needles so my index finger and thumb on my right hand are not sore. It’s not like my fingers are exactly delicate as I crochet, do woodworking, and various other activities that require using my fingers.

I use my index finger to touch the point of the left needle to move the stitches closer to the point. And when I hold the right needle my thumb rubs against the yarn which causes it to be sore. I’m using worsted weight Red Heart yarn, so it’s not the texture of the yarn.

I’ve tried various styles of knitting the most comfortable one I’ve found so far is the Eastern European where all the stitches are worked from the back. When I tried other styles, my right wrist would hurt. But even with this, the most comfortable one, I have to put my little finger in front of the right needle and use it to move the needle so I move my wrist a lot less. I suppose I could blame the wrist problem on the fact that I broke my right wrist a couple of years ago but it only hurts when I knit.

I’m working on an afghan that I think is going to be absolutely beautiful and because of the way the pattern is the instructions said to use circular needles. My goal was to knit four rows per day but because of the pain in my fingers I can only knit about every other day and that is if I put bandaids on my finger and thumb to provide padding.

I would love to hear suggestions on how to fix this problem. I’m sure this is due to me being a novice so I’m looking for expert advice. Thanks for your help.

I had to look up Eastern European knitting to see what it was. That’s fine, but be aware that you may have to alter some things like increases and decreases or other stitches in patterns. Most patterns are designed with continental or english style knitting in mind.