how to fix inside out knitting in the round???

I am fairly new to knitting. I am making a hat on circular needles. I messed up and had to take my knitting off the needles to rip back a few rounds and when I put it back on i realized it was inside out. my stitch marker also fell off and now I am not sure if it is inside out anymore because I don’t know which stitch is the first. I have it narrowed down to 2 stitches but I can’t tell which the long tail is actually coming from. I decided to keep working on it because it looks the same on both sides because I am doing a 1x1 rib stitch, but then i realized my pattern calls for different stitches later on, like a 3x2 ribbing and k2tog’s etc… and and it will be confusing and difficult to follow because the instructions tell you to either knit or purl and for me the knits are purls and the purls are knits. How can I tell which stitch is my first stitch and whether it’s inside out

If after ripping you accidentally switch direction (by turning the knitting inside out) it will create a tiny hole because you begin working in the wrong direction. If you can not find any hole, then you probably have the right side out.

When you need to know what is the very first stitch, try to think if you begun your rib with a knit or a purl. That helps you to know which is the first stitch of those two you have narrowed it down to.

1 Like

One way to prevent inside out (accidental reverse) when knitting in the round is to remember the yarn should always connect to the right hand needle.

Finding the first stitch depends on the type of cast on. The yarn tail will either be at the start of the round (knitted co and others) offer at the end of the first round (longtail co).

1 Like