How to find inexpensive yarn?

Beginner here, just finished my first afghan & am looking for yarn for my second.

Problem: Even with acrylic yarn on discount sites, the cost seems to be $80-$100 for enough to complete one afghan. What am I missing? I’ve tried amazon, yarn.com, knitpicks.com, etc.

I’m just doing this for fun, & the work I produce is not yet worth that kind of financial outlay. Can someone suggest a place where I could buy an afghan’s worth of yarn for around $50, or is this not possible?

Thanks in advance!

What kind of craft stores are near you? Sometimes they have good sales with coupons and stuff. Here are some websites for inexpensive yarn:

Have you heard of a store called “Ollies”? They are all over this area (near Philadelphia). They get yarn close-outs and all their yarn is $2.99 a skein!!! I’ve been there and bought Lion Brand yarn!!! Check them out!!!

Knitcindy

2 Likes

I’ve made lots of one color afghans for wedding gifts and such. I love to use double strands of these yarns:

Caron One Pound yarn
Bernat Super Value Yarn

Or sometimes I use 4 strands of Lion Brand Homespun yarn with size 50 needles.

Yesterday I was at JoAnn Fabrics and I bought some yarn that was on sale for 25% off. I got another 20% off because it was Senior Discount Day!!! Keep your eyes open and sign up for coupons for ALL your local craft stores!! I am also a HUGE Craigslist yarn shopper! Just enter “yarn” in the search box!!

Hth,
Knitcindy

1 Like

Thanks for the great suggestions: knitting-warehouse was new to me, and their prices look pretty good. We don’t have Ollies where I live, but we have Ocean State Job Lot (pretty much the same thing) and they sell yarn, too - who knew?
One more quick question you might be able to answer: knitting-warehouse has lots of “baby yarn,” but I don’t know what makes that different from regular yarn. Could I use that to knit an “adult” afghan?