How many stitches should I use for my hat?

I’m knitting a basic stockinette hat in the round for the first time, so complete beginner to this!

My pattern recommends 90 stitches with a gauge of 22 sts & 28 rows to 10 x 10cm using stockinette stitch.

It’s for my partner who has quite a big head. I measured his head circumference to be 24 inches (~60cm) around.

I’ve calculated this to mean 132 stitches instead of 90 (I cross multiplied 22:10cm, ?:60cm, 22 multiplied by 60, then divided by 10), but that seems like way too many stitches!

It also starts with a 1x1 rib, so I assume it will be stretchy too, therefore not necessary to have that many.

When shaping the crown, my pattern looks a little like this:

Row 1: k6, s2kpo, k6 six times (78 sts)
Row 2: knit
Row 3: k5, s2kpo, k5 six times (66 sts)

It decreases by 12 sts every 2 rows, so I was thinking I can only add extra stitches in multiples of 12? Would 102 stitches (90+12) do for the size of my partner’s head?

And then would I have to add another row at the start like this if I add the extra 12 sts:

k7, s2kpo, k7 six times

He doesn’t mind if the hat is longer/more slouchy.

I guess my questions are in summary:

1. Would 102 stitches be enough?
  2. If I added 12 extra stitches (102 altogether), would I have to do another row of decreases?
  3. Is it best to do a gauge of rib 1x1 to work out the right size?

http://www.earthguild.com/products/knitcroc/marypat/hatcalc.htm
This hat calculator may be helpful. Are you using DK weight yarn? When I ‘wing it’ with a pattern I usually look at other free patterns, on ravelry or allfreeknitting, for similar yarn weight in the size i need and see what stitch count they use.
Gauge is usually worked over whatever stitch will be used for the body of the hat.
Hope this helps
Linda

That’s a very helpful hat calculator that nonknittingknots has recommended.
Remember too that you only want the hat to be 1-2" smaller than the head size, so 22-23" for the hat size.