How many stitches should i cast on?

Hello everyone
I’m still a novice, i’ve been knitting since Christmas and i’m loving it, loving it, loving it.
But i would really like your expert advice please on my next project.

I’ve made a few hats, and i’ve just guessed at how many stitches to cast on, via guesswork and swatches, sometimes they come out ok, and other times they are a little too big or too small.

I’d quite like these hats to be perfect(ish)
I am making two hats for my friends out in NZ, it will be winter when it is their birthdays in June.
I have some rather lovely green wool, one shade Olive and the other Fern and i want to knit both yarns together, i’ve done a swatch and it looks lovely.
(i could post a pic up if i knew how)

If i was knitting with just one ball of yarn it recommends using 4mm needles, and obtaining a gage of 22st and 30rows measuring 10x10cm

Details of the swatch i did with both yarns are, i used size 6mm needles, i cast on 20 st and knitted for 21 rows of a mixture of plain and ribbing (i wanted to see the difference between the two in width).
It measures 13cm across on the plain stitches and 12cm across on the ribbing.
It measures about 12cm in height.

My friends head measures 59cm and her son measures 50cm.

if i double my gage it works out like this.
6.5cm 10st
13cm 20st
19.5cm 30st
26cm 40st
32.5cm 50st
39cm 60st
45.5cm 70st
52cm 80st
58.5cm 90st

therefore i could cast on 90st for the mum and 78, 80st for the boy.

what do you think, you advice will be very much appreciated.

Charlie

http://www.mielkesfarm.com/bsic_hat.htm

This site should help.

Yes ribbing pulls in which is why it’s used for cuffs, to snug up the hat/sock/sweater. If you want to use the 6mm, take the number of sts per inch times about 20 or 21 inches (uhh that’d be around 50-52cm) and CO that many sts. That should fit most adult heads. And Ingrid’s link should help too.

I also like this site:

http://www.earthguild.com/products/knitcroc/marypat/hatcalc.htm