How many of you ACTUALLY use a row counter?

There’s gotta be a better way…

:pray:

sigh i have a bunch of them but rarely use them because i always forget to turn it. i always end up counting my rows anyway because i don’t trust myself to have remembered to the counter on every row.

I don’t use one. I could never remember if I turned it or not. I never had an electric one, because I think I’d have the same problem.

If it is imperative that I have the exact number of rows, I usually mark them on a paper. More likely, if I have to do 6 rows, I will right a 1-6 on a paper and mark them off as I go.

At this point, though, I can usually tell what’s been done. I usually just write down rows if the stitch pattern is complex–makes it harder to count rows by just looking at them.

I’ve got one that i’m using right now. It’s one of those cheap-y, turn-y ones that sits on my needle.

In the past i’ve never used them before because i forgot to turn them or got irritated with them on my needle, but i’m currently working on the DNA scarf and it’s proving itself to be invaluable! The pattern is rather complex and changes every row so if i didn’t have it i’d be sunk.

I kinda forced myself to use it for this project but i’m glad i did!

-hh

I use one of those peg style ones on everything that is a bit complicated! I love it!

I used the one I have a lot when I began knitting(if I remember correctly it was with the lot of needles I got from my grandaunt).
But after some mess like “Have I turned the wheel?” and “Darn, I think I turned it twice!”, I now use a pen and paper. Yes, you can still forget to use that, but somehow I don’t. Plus I have my own way of marking decreases and increases. That way I can check if I already did that 6 decrease rows. For example when I make sleeves for a sweater I not only write down the rows(btw. I make a line for a row) I also mark the decrease rows and so I can make the second sleeve identical.