How can I get yarn donated?

I’m a 7th grade student and I started a non profit project called “Quilts for the Cold” For this project I use a potholder loom to create yarn squares. I then make several more and connect them into a large yarn quilt. This project’s goal is to make as many yarn quilts for the homeless. hospitals, and low income families that will be given out for free. I just want to help my community, but I’ve asked so many people and they just shrugged me off. I’ve tried posting donation requests to several websites, but no one replies. I have posted my project Crowdrise and Donors Choose (of the same name Quilts for the cold) to try to raise money for yarn. I live in Palmdale California, and I have already seen someone asking for free yarn only to be told that "you can cheaply get them at Walmart. The thing is my family is a low income household, and this project requires a lot of yarn, and is for people who are going through what I go through. I can’t spend a million dollars on yarn to be given out for free, I wish I could but you actually need to have a flow of income. I’ve asked my school and they helped out by posting a donation campaign on Donors Choose. I don’t need any of the blankets for myself since I’ve already made a yarn Quilt for my self when I was seven (which later inspired me to start this project) but what can I do? I can’t ask a church since my family doesn’t go to the local churches so what do i do? (P.S Is there a way to get this project to help others outside of Palmdale? Some other people live in much colder climates and might need them more than we do)

I would suggest looking on Craig’s list and sites like that. Ask local yarn stores to keep you in mind if someone is looking to clean out their stash. You can often get very, very inexpensive yarn af charity shops like Goodwill.

I will see what styles else I can find.

1 Like

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
This sounds like a very worthwhile and imaginative project.