Holding my needles

Hi everyone!

I’ve been knitting for a few years, and when I was taught how to knit, I didn’t feel right until I held my needles in a way that is different to both the English and the Continental methods. To me, its very comfortable, and I seem to knit fine as I am. I’ve tried to knit via the English and continental methods, but it just doesn’t feel good to me, and I always end up going back to my way! My stitches seem to be fine when I knit - neither too tight or too loose, and while I might be a bit slower than other knitters, I get there in the end! :oops: :wink:

But, what I’m wondering really is, whether in order to knit ‘properly’, I should try to hold the needles in either the English or the Continental method – or is it fine to have your own little style (that is different to the textbooks) of holding them?

As long as you’re happy with what comes off of them, you go and hold your needles any old way you want! :thumbsup:

Thanks Ingrid! :smiley:

props one needle under arm and starts knitting again :XX: :thumbsup:

I’ve heard of the ‘needle under the arm’ method. In fact there was a French woman on TV recently (the one that got the new face) who held her needle that way.

The only time that the way you hold your needles maybe an issue is when you are learning a new stitch or pattern that has a complicated set of instructions. Then you may have to play with the way you wrap the yarn or such in order to achieve the same results. I have the same problem, because I knit left and hold the yarn in my left, so I have to re-interpret even the left-handed directions a bit to accomodate my unusual style.

For example I just learned a twisted drop stitch and had to play with wrapping the yarn for several rows in order to achieve the correct look to the stitch. It is doable, just requires you to be able to think outside of the box.

Hello everyone.