Help with RS/WS

I am a beginner knitter and I’m making a beanie with a circular needle here is the part that im stuck at

First set up row:
(RS) P1, k1, p2, k2, kf&b, k4, kf&b, k3, p2, k1, p2, k2, kf&b, k2, kf&b, k1, kf&b, k2, p2, kf&b, p1, k2, kf&b, k2, Kf&b, k1, kf&b, k2, p2, k1, p2, k2, kf&b, k4, kf&b, k3, p2. You should now have 73 sts.

Second set up row:
(WS) K2, *p13, [k5] repeat from * omitting between the [ ] on the 3rd repeat, to last 4 sts, k4.

I understand that WS/RS means wrong side/right side but does this mean I turn the knitting over, or is there a technique to turn the work from RS to WS how do i hold the needle? or what exactly do I need to do?

The pattern is written to be knit back and forth in rows rather than connected and knit in the round. If you’re knitting it back and forth, then when you get to the end of row 1, all the stitches will be over at your right hand. Pass that needle and the stitches over to your left hand, pick up the working yarn and begin knitting row 2.

If you intend to connect the sts and knit in the round, then you need to change row 2 around and exchange the knit and purl sts. And you’ll need to do the same for all WS rows. (For example, row 2would become p4 k13, p5 k13, p2). And it would probably be a good idea to omit 1 stitch on the ends since you won’t need sts for a seam if you knit in the round.

Thank you so much salmonmac! I now get it

I have a similar question to this post.

I am also making a hat, but this pattern IS in the round.

I grew confused when I thought I knew what I was doing but clearly didn’t…

The pattern has about 14 rows for a brim knitting on separate needles, then you’re supposed to transfer the work to circular needles and knit, in stockinette, the remaining crown until it measures about 5". I thought everything was fine, but please tell me where did I go wrong.

First of all, when I transferred my stitches, did I do it backwards?