Help with knitting through the back loop on Kim Hargreaves pattern

Hello and thank you for taking the time to read my question!

I am relatively new to knitting and have a question on a Kim Hargreaves pattern that I am attempting. It basically calls for knitting through the back loop straight after casting on. This is the very first row of the pattern and I am stuck on it :aww:

I am wondering if it has to do with the wool that I am using as it is quite stiff (I am using Rowan which is what the design calls for though). I am using 8 mm needles, again as required.

The problem I am having is that the tension is too tight so I can only knit one stitch through the back loop and then am unable to proceed any further!

Am I missing something really obvious? I undid my casting on and started again much more loosely but I still have the same problem. I can only do one stitch tbl and then I end up with both needles really close together and not enough room to knit another stitch tbl.

Could this be because I am not using the right casting on method (I heard there are several ways of casting on)?

The pattern instructions are as follows:
BACK
Cast on 53 (55: 59: 61: 65: 69) sts using 8 mm needles.
Row 1 (RS): (K1 tbl) 1 (0: 0: 1: 1: 1) times, *P1 tbl, K1 tbl, rep from * to last 0 (1: 1: 0: 0: 0) st, (P1 tbl) 1 (0: 0: 1: 1: 1) times.

I am doing the smallest size so am casting on 53 sts.

Any help would be gratefully received! :inlove:
I can’t wait to knit this but I am stuck on row 1 :yay: :wink:

Hi and welcome!
Which cast on are you using? It may be that it’s too tight and another cast on, maybe a long tail would work better. Another possiblity is to cast on using a larger size needle and work the first row with the size you need in the pattern.
Depending on the next row, you might also be able to knit and purl these sts as usual, through the front loop, and then continue with the pattern as written, working through the back loops.