Help with knitted cardigan instructions

Hello! I am currently knitting the harper cardigan by quail studios, its my first attempt at a cardigan and im pretty confused by the neck shaping instructions, hopefully someone can help!

The pattern says:
“K41 and turn, leaving remaining stitches on a stitch holder. Work each side seperately.
Next row: P1, P2tog, P to end. (40 sts)
Cast off”

Im pretty confused in general about which stitches go on the holder and which im knitting.

Also, what does it mean by work each side seperately?

Do I cast off all after this or just the stitches on the needles?

Thanks in advance for any help :slight_smile:

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
Sounds like you’re going to work one shoulder at a time. Knit across 41sts and place the sts remaining on the left needle on a holder. You’ll get to them later.
Turn to the purl side and follow the directions for that row including the decrease, then turn to the knit side and cast off the 40sts that you just purled.

Nice sweater what color are you using?

Thank you very much for the quick response! And thank you also for the instructions, that makes sense to me. Just one more quick question, after i have cast off those stirches, what happens with the remaining stitches from the stitch holder? :grinning:

Thank you! I am using baby pink, it’s going to be a christmas present for my younger sister.

What a lovely gift!
The next instructions should tell you what to do with the remaining sts. Usually, some sts are bound off for the center neck and then the remaining 41sts are worked like the first shoulder. A stitch would be decreased at the neck edge and a succeeding row bound off.
Check the next instructions to be sure.

That helps a lot, thank you! Ill give it a shot!

That’s going to look beautiful in baby pink she id going to have a wonderful Christmas!

Thank you very much trisha! Hopefully it all works out :smile:

Hello again!