HELP - Total Newbie having trouble with tension

Hi All! I’m a newbie at this knitting thing and although I do several other crafts, for some reason I can not get the hang of knitting and it’s driving me crazy! I had a crying, whoe is me jag last night and my DH just kept telling me, “No you aren’t stupid, you’ll get it”, will I? :??

Now for my problem - the whole knit stitch is what’s confusing me. I have a few books, but they don’t tell you much. I’m using #13 needles, which if what a lady I work with suggested, but they seem so big and weird in my hands. I have the casting on pretty well, but I’m not sure how tight to make the stitch. From what I’ve read, I think only as tight as to slide easily on the needle. So then I come to the knit stitch. I think I have an idea of what to do and I finish a row and look at the back side and it looks like I have a whole bunch of “loops”. How tight do I make the new stitch?

I know someone here will have mercy on me and be gentle. I’ve read several posts and know I’m in good hands.

Did you view the videos at the top of the forum? There are some basic ones there that might help you.

Seems to me it might be easier on smaller needles, but some people do like to learn on the large ones.

Tightness…new knitters tend to knit too tightly, but with practice your tension will get better. If they are too tight and you can’t get your needle under them then try again and make them looser.

Knit stitch… the best thing to do is check the video and then come back with your questions about that.

At the end of the row you switch hands. Put the needle with stitches back in your left hand, empty needle in the right. Then you start all over again. Don’t expect the stitches to be even or perfect yet, just practice the technique for awhile. :slight_smile:

Oh and Kudos to your husband for being so kind! :thumbsup: