Help! Correcting errors when knitting lace

I am working on my first lace scarf. I have only done garter stitch and stock stitch before.

It is the easiest lace.

K2tog, YO, K2 all over

but sometimes I made mistakes, I need to unravel a few rows, then I am totally stuck, I cannot figure out what is what. I have to start from scratch again.

I have started 3 times today. Very frustrating!

Any tips when you have to unravel to correct something in lace?

Hi! Most lace knitters use “lifelines” because frogging lace back can
get very confusing. Under the tips section in the videos under
"fixing mistakes" there are videos showing how to insert a needle
at the row that needs fixing and also one showing how to use a
lifeline.

There are some pretty good tutorials on lifelines if you do a
google search.

Libbie :slight_smile:

Ohhhhh I know what ya mean, and I feel your pain! I’m not an expert lace knitter either, and this past Fall, I embarked upon my first lace scarf!

Here are a few tips from one newbie lace knitter to another:

1. [B]Use stitch markers [/B]to mark the beginning and end of row repeats!

2. At the end of EVERY ROW…[B]do a “head count”.[/B] Are there any extra stitches? Are there any missing stitches? Don’t proceed to your next row til you have done your head-count. Treat them like little kids on a bus!

3. If there are [COLOR=Blue]too many stitches[/COLOR], you have [COLOR=Blue]probably done an extra yarn[/COLOR] [COLOR=Blue]over [/COLOR]by accident. If there are [COLOR=Red]too few stitches,[/COLOR] you have[COLOR=Red] probably left out[/COLOR] [COLOR=Red]a yarn over [/COLOR]before or after a K2T. [B]TINK [/B]BACK to the location of the error, and [B]fix it.