Fingerless glove bind off help!

I’m pretty new to knitting but I found this easy pattern online for fingerless gloves. I’m altering it to fit my boyfriend’s hands so I am making it longer and wider. I tried casting on 32 stitches instead of 25 but that was too small. So then I tried 40 which is ok, but too loose around the wrist. 32 stitches seemed ok once it was on my hand, but the bind-off wasn’t stretchy so it was hard to get on. I also notice that when I lay the glove flat, it seems the top is tight and the bottom just hangs loose. I’ve tried a knit cast off, rib cast off and a combination of both. Any suggestions to get the wrist looking right? Pictures won’t upload :frowning:

I just used this bind off recently and it is excellent. Bind off in pattern; knit the knit stitches and purl the purl stitches.

Extra Stretchy No Flare Bind Off

I llike that bind off, too. It’s easy to do in any rib and it puts enough extra yarn into the bind off to give you stretch.
I also love the tubular bind off which is stretchy and looks fantastic but is more time consuming, at least for me.
Here’s a link that will help with photos.
http://forum.knittinghelp.com/t/new-how-to-post-a-photo?t=80610

I just used this BO. It worked great this time. I’d tried it before and wasn’t getting it right and ripped it out. This time I got it right! It looks good and has just enough extra yarn in the BO to give it the right amount of stretch. It’s easier IMO than the Surprisingly Stretchy BO and looks much, much better. :woot:

Thanks everyone! I’ll try that. I think I might also try switching to a smaller needle size for the last few rows so it will be tighter but still stretchy.

Generally speaking, I go down 2 needle sizes for ribbing if I’m working stockinette or garter stitch. It works for me. YMMV