Enhancing Lace Weight Yarn

I have been knitting for about 50 years, and spinning for about 4 years, but not regularly. I decided to knit a shawl and ordered “lace weight” wool, silk yarn blend. Well, it’s much more aggravating than I thought to knit with a yarn that’s about the thickness of #10 crochet thread. I have lots of mohair, merino, llama carded fleece. I was thinking that maybe I could either do a sort of core spinning and spin the lace weight, but not so thin by added the fleece to thicken it. Or, as another option, spin a thin yarn and then ply with the lace weight yarn.

I would like to know from experienced spinners which option they would recommend, if either, or maybe something else to try. I hate to waste the purchased lace weight yarn, but I don’t have the patience or inclination to keep trying to use the lace wt to knit a shawl. I could wear out the yarn just knitting and frogging it out, not to mention fraying my nerves as well. I would appreciate any ideas that you might have and thanks for your help.

MaddieRose,

If you corespun it, you would hide the original yarn. You bought that yarn/colorway for a reason & it would be a shame to hide it.

Plying it with a secondary yarn is a good idea. Make sure you find out which way the original yarn was spun (Z or S) and spin the second yarn the same way. You may have to run the yarn through the wheel to put a little extra twist into it so that it will not untwist when you ply it with the second yarn.

A third option would be to chain ply (Navajo ply) the yarn. You would end up with less yardage and would have to change patterns though.