Do I Need A Barbie Doll For Knitting Barbie Clothes?

I am thinking of knitting Barbie clothes, and I have a question: do I need to buy a Barbie doll to try them on after I knit them? Or can I just knit them without one to try them on? Any help is appreciated.

I am new to knitting, however, when I crocheted doll clothes I always had a doll the size I crocheted the outfit for. Why? Because not all dolls are the same size. They may be in height but I have found that some kmart barbie type dolls had fatter legs while dollar tree dolls were a smidge taller or shorter. They also differ slighty in size from older dolls now. Plus I like to see how they look so I can make any final adjustments.

3 Likes

Thank you. What you have said is very, very helpful. Are you planning to knit doll clothes too? Or not? Just curious.

I have given it a little thought. Perhaps when I more fluent I would like to try to knit a sweater or something for a teddy bear ; with 3 granddaughters 2 1/2yrs,1 1/2 yrs, and 1 yr. I shall have plenty of practice. For now, I am happy with bags( almost completed my first 1 which is also my 1st knitted project) and scarves are in the near future. I would like to try a baby sweater. So perhaps some day down the road :blush:

1 Like

I knit dishcloths and coaster sets; I have a scarf that is unfinished, and have knitted one pair of slipper socks for myself. I sell the dishcloths and coaster sets I knit in craft shows. I want to knit more socks, and learn to knit hats and maybe toys. Do you ever knit reusable shopping bags or not?

I think that is a fun way to make some extra money. I give everything I make to either family, friends, someone in need, or just because.