Determining your knitting level

Hi everybody,

I am a new (last Sunday) knitter and I am so anxious to knit up everything. I have 5 stores around me that I can choose my supplies from. I went to AC Moore and some fantabulous sweaters on the wall. My husband was even amazed so I know I have to keep on knitting so I can make one of those.

Now my question is, how do you determine your level of knitting? I know that I am a beginner. How many beginner projects do I have to knit before I consider myself “graduated” to the next level? What should be in my list of “to do” projects before I try to go for the fancier stuff? What stitches should I master first before trying to move on? There are a few classes coming up in the area and I don’t want to impose on the instructor with my minimal level of skills if I’m not ready to go to the next level.

There are no ‘levels’. The more you knit, the better you get, the more even your tension becomes. The more patterns you read, the better you get at interpreting them. Some people knit scarves until they can’t stand the sight of them, others branch out from the beginning to hats, socks, clogs, whatever they want.

So knit and purl until you feel comfortable with that and have some degree of even tension. Try anything you want to try. It’s knitting. Not brain surgery. With Amy’s videos and the helpful people here, you’ll get to where you want to be in very short order.

well i would say you should ask the teacher what you need to be able to do in order to be comfortable in her classes. a lot of times classes will specify what techniques you need to have mastered to be able to do whatever project they are working on.

basically the only way to get to the next level is to just close your eyes and make the jump into the project. there is no real defining moment.