Determining knitting style

Hello! I’m a self taught knitter, who has been knitting off and on for about 2 years. Lately I’ve been wanting to take on more projects, and have been trying to pay more attention to my technique, etc. So this evening I decided to look up how to hold my yarn while doing my purl stitches, which has always been less comfortable to me than how I hold my yarn while doing knit stitches. Anyway, in doing so I noticed most tutorials showed the yarn being wrapped counterclockwise around the needle while purl stitching, while I wrap it clockwise. Which led me to all the different knitting styles… eastern, western, combination… And now I’m scared that perhaps the way I’m knitting will cause me problems with certain patterns etc…

So here’s how I knit: I knit my purl stitches in the front (inserting needle from right to left, in front), then wrapping my yarn clockwise. And I knit my knit stitches behind (inserting my needle left to right, from front to back) then wrapping my yarn counterclockwise.

So what style am I knitting in? And how will it effect patterns, etc.?

Thank you!! Uploading… Uploading…

it seems to me that you’re twisting the stitches when you purl. It tightens the stitch and makes it slightly more difficult to knit into on the next row. There are patterns that call for twisted stitches and it can be very effective in ribbing or aran knits.
This tutorial shows the twisted stitch and also the way stitches are usually seated on the needle with the right leg of the stitch toward the front.

Here’s also a video for twisted sts (it shows twisting them by knitting through the back loop but the effect is the same).

That said, there are people who knit this way all the time because they prefer it.