Crochet question teching kids 8 to 12 years old

I’ve been crocheting for many years and crochet items and donate them to a local charity in my neighborhood here in Mexico. The charity is holding a summer camp for local children and have asked me to teach the kids to crochet. I’m excited to do this but have some challenges: 1. Language, 2. Teaching kids who have limited resources after the summer camp. Each kid will get a hook and a skein of yarn. I’ve put together 6 pages for the first class, with pictures to show slip knot, chain, single crochet, half double and double crochet in English and Spanish. I’m looking for a simple project that beginners can complete in the second class. Is a simple chain bracelet good?

2 Likes

Sure it is good, single crochet or double crochet bracelet or hair ties can be too. Plain dishcloth or washcloth is nice to learn as well, doesn’t matter if edge’s are not perfect. They will be proud to make something. Enjoy your teaching class.

1 Like

I really like the idea of bracelets. Kids seem to enjoy them, they’re definitely doable, and will be something they can enjoy wearing. They can use their new skills to make more to give to friends.

1 Like

Thanks for the input. I think the first project will be a chain bracelet. I’ll get some beads to secure the closure running the yarn ends thru the bead. I’ll make a sample to be sure

1 Like

Would you consider granny squares a starter project?

Thank you! When I saw a video by a young girl about 7 or 8 years old, I realized how simple it needs to be. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMVNXeL_E6w&t=123s