Crochet beginner ☹️

Please could someone help me I am a beginner in crochet but already struggling!!! Could someone break this first part down for me please I know how to make foundation chain and crochet double knit however what does 4 dc in last chain mean? Help with all rounds 1-5 would be much appreciated Helpppp

Hi! Here goes!
Round 1 you are skipping the first stitch, then do a double crochet in each of the stitches up to the last stitch where you will make 4 dc in the one stitch. Now you are going to work on the other side of the foundation. You arr going to proceed like you did on the other side of the foundation and work one dc in each chain until you get to the very last one where you will do 4 double crochets. At this point you should have 22 stitches
Round two: dv in each of the next seven stitches then in brackets it says to dc in the next stitch then in the next stitch make 2 dc, you are to repeat what is in the brackets twice. Then it tells you to repeat round 2 from the beginning once more. At this point you should have 26 stitches
Round 3: it is the same as round 2 except that in the brackets it tells you to dc in each of the next 2 stitches and then 2 dc in the next stitch, at the end you should have 30 stitches.
Round 4: this is also like the last 2 rounds excrept for the extra dc inside the brackets giving you a total of 34 stitchs
Round 5: you will dc in the back loops to the end. You again should have 34 stitches

I hope this helps you

Thankyou so much for detailed instructions however what does it mean by do 4 dc? Is it 4 more chains to start the next row?

It means to work 4 stitches (4 dc) in the last stitch which will give you an increase in stitches . Does that help?

I understand it now. Thanks for your help. I’ve always knotted but want to learn crochet it’s just very difficult to follow
Many thanks

You’re welcome! Amytime if i can help you just have to post your question