Christmas stocking

I want to make this stocking . The wool says Bernat sparkle fur but I can’t find it ! Does anyone know an alternative . I’m a beginner so need to know what needles and how many balls I would need in a different wool . Thank you in advance for any help !

Yarnsub.com is a good place to start, but I would guess a chunky tinsel yarn, or even a faux fur, with similar yardage would fit the bill.
I plugged in the yarn your pattern calls for - as I suspected, it’s discontinued, but it does have some suggestions for alternatives:
https://yarnsub.com/yarns/bernat/sparkle_fur

Oh thank you so much for looking ! Unfortunately I have tried that and I can’t get any of those wools listed :cry: !! I’ve been through them all and searched ! I could find some of the schjeepes but I didn’t like any of the colours for girls !

If you’re in the UK or willing to order from a UK site, I think I can suggest a few yarns - not sure if they’re available elsewhere, but you could try:
King Cole Tinsel Chunky - plenty of colours
Peter Pan Precious Chunky - pastels, not a huge selection of shades
King Cole Cuddles Multi Chunky - more of a “fluffy” texture than eyelash yarn but nice colours
Sirdar Funky Fur
Sirdar Touch

All these are available on Woolwarehouse.co.uk - there’s a whole faux fur yarn section you can browse, I just picked a few from there.
You might not be able to make a stocking the same size as your pattern but it would still look nice!

1 Like

Oh wow! Thank you so much!
I’ve spent hours searching . I’ll check these out tomorrow!

1 Like

No problem! Hope you can find something you like :blush:

The website is amazing ! Thank you for introducing me to it ! One more question!!!
The pattern says US 9 or 5.5 mm needles.

I’m going with the king Cole chunky tinsel which says 6mm ? So which do I use and will it be the same amount of balls?

1 Like