Casting off loop

yarn

Hi there!

I’m very new to all this and am teaching myself via youtube tutorials (not sure if that’s a good or bad idea…)

I’m having trouble however with casting off. Whenever I try to I end up with a big loop. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. It seems as though the first and second stitch become linked?

Please help as I am trying to knit a baby blanket for my soon-to-be-nephew!

Thank you!
Allie

Ok. This is what you do:

When you are ready to start doing your casting off you knit the first 2 stitches.
Then using your left hand needle poke through the first stitch you knitted and loosen it, then lift it over the 2nd stitch and take it off the needle.
Then you knit another stitch so you have 2 sts on the right hand needle. Grab the first one with your left hand needle and lift it over and off the needle.
You keep doing that over and over until you have 1 st left on your right hand needle. Cut the yarn leaving about 6" for a tail and slide the last st off the needle. Poke the tail of yarn thru the last st and pull it tight.

Is this what you are doing??
Knitcindy

Hi,
Thank you so much for replying. I’m having no trouble actually casting off, but my initial slipknot that I did for my first stitch is connecting to my second stitch, and it creating a huge loop. I will attach a picture.

I’m at the moment surviving by taking the first stitch off and moving it from one needle to the next.

Allie

What cast on are you using?

Hello,

A slipknot method. I’m learning from youtube videos so did as I was told!

Thanks
Allie

There are many cast ons that start with a slip knot and they shouldn’t give you any problem with a long strand of yarn. I’m wondering if this is a thumb loop cast on which is not a sturdy cast on and is only suitable for a very small number of sts (3-4). It frequently gives a long strand of yarn or a large loop.
Here’s the thumb loop cast on. Is this the kind of cast on you used? Can you post a video of the cast on you used?