Casting off in crab

Hi I am new here, I hope someone can help me. I am doing a doll dress pattern and it says to cast off in crab and I just can’t seem to grasp the concept, here is what it says:

Cast off in crab stitch as follows: K 2nd st, k 1st stitch, cast off 1 st. k 2nd st, (st remains on ndl) cast off 1 st, k 1st st (both sts slip off ndl) cast off 1 st, to last st, cast off 1, fasten off

I have been knitting for many years and this is the first time in 30 years that knitting confuses me. Right from the first stitch on it doesn’t make any sense, it says to knit the 2nd stitch, so what do you do with the first stitch…
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

KnittingJewel…I, too, have been knitting for over 30 years and I’ve never ever seen that cast off. Would a regular cast off work just as well?

I found this explanation in a Knitty pattern…maybe this will help. This is the site:

http://www.knitty.com/issuesummer06/PATTknucks.html

and these were the instructions, but they are for crochet, even though the pattern was knitted.

[I][FONT=Verdana]How to crochet your very own crab stitch edging, [/FONT][/I]
[I][FONT=Verdana]even if you’re really really scared.[/FONT][/I]

[B][FONT=Verdana]Story [/FONT][/B][B][FONT=Verdana](feel free to skip)[/FONT][/B]
[FONT=Verdana]I have this wonderful zip-up sweater that I’ve been wearing for years, and I could not for the life of me figure out what the edging was. It was a lovely, thick corded edge. It wasn’t until I started looking for an alternative edging for a cuff that I found out it was [B]crab stitch[/B]. At first, I didn’t get it. I tried crocheting backwards – and it just looked like crochet! Most of the instructions I found did not explain the little twist you need to do to make it work. So here you go, crab stitch tutorial. Try it on your next project! [/FONT]

[B][FONT=Verdana]Attributes[/FONT][/B]
[FONT=Verdana]Crab stitch is also known as reverse single crochet or shrimp stitch. [/FONT]